Translating Universally-Appealing Narratives (so says a nerd).

Star Wars

I have no reservations in declaring my nerd status. And as a fan of science-fiction, I (of course) have an undying love of Star Wars. Say what you will about the prequels and the corporate cash-grabbin’ now so associated with the franchise, but I really believe that the first film has an appeal that speaks to people of various ages, creeds, and proclivities. Many chalk this up to the fact that George Lucas made Star Wars after being absolutely fascinated with Joseph Campbell’s The Hero with a Thousand Faces, a work of theory that explores the idea of narrative structures, archetypes, and the collective unconscious.

So why am I geeking out right now?

Yesterday in class I mentioned that I’d heard a piece on NPR about Star Wars being translated into Navajo for the first time ever.

If you’re interested, click on the very link you’re now reading to check out that piece.

I could ramble for hours about this, but what does everyone else think about Star Wars being translated into Navajo? Is it uplifting, proving that we can find common areas of interest despite cultural and linguistic differences? Or is it depressing, just another example of mainstream values/artifacts infiltrating Native American culture?

One thought on “Translating Universally-Appealing Narratives (so says a nerd).

  1. I think this is great. Yes, it does represent some form of assimilation, but I think it’s more important that an ancient language is proliferating in new contexts rather than falling into obsolescence. Also, I’m glad to know about the “Code Switch” website!

Leave a Reply

